My Experience as an Entrepreneur - MO Details

My name is Mariam Olatunji, Creative Director/CEO at MO DETAILS. I am a 400 level student of the department of Mass Communication, University of Lagos.

-HOW I STARTED

I started my journey as a fashion entrepreneur towards the end of my 200 level in 2015. I used to buy female clothes in small quantities from the market and go sell at school to my classmates and then I began to go to friends’ hostels to market my wares and soon people began to make orders, somehow I began to shop for people personally according to their tastes and I saw it as a good thing to do to be financially independent in my own little way.

Towards the end of the year 2015, during my second semester holiday, I was at home and a friend messaged me and advised me to go learn fashion designing since I was already into the fashion line and that I should learn how to make those wears I bought at the market.

That was how I began to make moves towards designing outfits for females. That was the beginning of MO DETAILS!

-MY MOTIVATION

I wasn’t born with a silver spoon in my mouth. I come from a home where everyone is struggling to make ends meet. However, I do not allow that diminish me or make me lose focus. Therefore, it has made me strong. My main motivation has been the urge to be financially independent.

I wanted more for myself than I was given and the most reasonable way I could achieve that was to do something extra which I have always been doing. And this has not in anyway affected my studies.
Also, my love for fashion and being the brain behind nice and well-tailored outfits has kept me going.

-CHALLENGES

As much as one strives as an entrepreneur, there are bound to be challenges and they’ve
been:

1. Juggling school with business has been challenging, but I try as much as possible to balance things so as not allow one affect the other.